Bind Me as a Seal upon Your Heart

Do the thews of our love still bind you to me 
                when we’re apart?
Do they snugly enwrap your heart
                or are they flapping in the wind
                drifting in the breeze

                eddying in currents of air unfeelingly serene?

How can I know?
When will you return to me?
My heart longs to haul you in,
                draw you closer to me
                until at last you’re in my arms –

But when will it be?
You are so far away,
and my heart cries in the night.

The slipping sound the last of the rope makes
as it slithers through the windlass

and I’m left staring at a cut, frayed end,
the end of all my hopes in you. 

Leave a Reply

