The Books I Finished in 2012

I decided to track what I read during 2012, just for curiosity’s sake. Note well that word “finished” in the title; some books were started prior to 2012 (e.g. City of God), and other books I started I never finished (e.g. The Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest –what a piece of dreck. I felt no need to finish it.) I took it easy on myself, in a sense, with the books on this list because many of them were re-reads from previous years. I didn’t feel like the discipline to make myself only read books new to me was useful or  fun (no fun not done, that’s my motto), so I didn’t. I alternated, more or less, and it turned out pretty enjoyably. I made more of a conscious effort to read for pleasure this past year, and it was fruitful and enjoyable for me. I know it improved my mind. I’d gotten away from reading for myself, because of the press of my duties, but that was tiring, so I decided to work back to reading for myself & I’m glad I did. Perhaps when you peruse this list, you can gain some insight into my likes, my interests, my temperament, and my outlook on life. Or just insight on what books I happened to devour.

What did you read in 2012? What are you planning on for 2013?

1)     Ernest Hemingway, a Life Story, Carlos Baker

2)     Angels Flight, Michael Connolly

3)     The Last Days of Adolph Hitler, H. Trevor Rope

4)     White Jazz, James Ellroy

5)     City of God, St. Augustine

6)     The Road, Cormac McCarthy

7)     Speaking the Truth in Love to Muslims, Roland Cap Elhke

8)     Moby Dick, Herman Melville

9)    The English Patient, Michael Ondaatje

10)  The Angel of Darkness, Caleb Carr

11)  Religion on Trial, Craig Parton

12)  A Man in Full, Tom Wolfe

13) Men are like Waffles, Women are like Spaghetti, Bill & Pam Farrel

14) The New Testament in His Blood, Burnell Eckhardt

15) Berlin Noir, Philip Kerr

16) Into the Wild, Jon Krakauer

17) Cell, Stephen King

18) The Secret History, Donna Tartt

19) The Stripping of the Altars, Eamon Duffy

20) The Scarab Murder Case, S.S. Van Dine

21) Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea, Jules Verne

22) Forewords and Afterwords, W.H. Auden

23) Birch Coulie, John Christgau

24) The Big Sleep, Raymond Chandler

25) The High Window, Raymond Chandler

26) The Lady in the Lake, Raymond Chandler

27) Gentlemen, Bob Gendron (from the 33 1/3 series)

28) The Diving Bell and the Butterfly, Jean-Dominique Bauby

30) No Easy Day, Mark Owen

31) Imitation of Christ, Thomas a’ Kempis

32) Lost Christianity, Jacob Needleman

33) Strong, Loving, and Wise, Robert Hovda

34) The Mission Song, John Le Carre

35) The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, John Boyne

Leave a Reply

