The sound of a heart breaking free…or collapsing in on its own delusions

Yeah, I know, it was on So You Think You Can Dance. That’s where I found out about it. I personally don’t see the point in pretending to be more awesome, hip, all-knowing, etc. than I actually am, because people always see through that anyway. The point is, it’s a great song. I love echoey guitar rock (e.g. Explosions in the Sky, My Bloody Valentine, etc.) and this is a fine example. Synthesizers aren’t entirely unwelcome around me, either. (I try to keep a broad mind…go organic, rootsy, or acoustic at some times, others shiny, sleek, processed, or digital. Either can be fine. Some, like White Pony, meld both.)

Part of the reason I put this up is I’ve been thinking lately about my best friend A_______ from high school. She’s one of the three or five most brilliant people I’ve ever met (that includes all college & grad school professors), and now she’s on her fourth marriage (yes, you read that right *sigh*), and is an atheist vegan to boot. The vegan part I can let go by the board, but the atheist part is really painful to think about. She’s always had my prayers and always will, but she doesn’t seem to want them, or even the God that they go to. It’s hard to think about. This song is in honor of her. The lyrics hit at her main weakness, which is the enthronement of the mind and reason over everything else. (No doubt she’d be full of disdain that I have chosen such a bourgeouise, mass-market, ennervated, soulless thing as a song that had been played on SYTYCD…but that’s part of why it fits, don’t you see.) God rest ye, A__________ … you keep fighting in your way, and I’ll keep fighting in mine.

I’m the king of my own land.
Facing tempests of dust, I’ll fight until the end.

Creatures of my dreams raise up and dance with me!
Now and forever, I’m your king!

Leave a Reply

